Hello

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Author Topic: Need help with Visual Basic...  (Read 986 times)

Offline Ginko
  • hello again
  • Legendary Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3087
  • Karma: +10/-0
Need help with Visual Basic...
« on: February 12, 2003, 07:26:02 PM »
Okay...I\'m making a project that uploads 6 customer names and their sales from two arrays.

The names and sales are uploaded to a list box by using a command button.

Next I calculate average sales.

Then I\'m suppose to get the minimum sales amount in a text box with its\' own command button.

Then the same for a maximum.

Here\'s what I got...

Quote


Option Explicit

Dim strName(6) As String, curSale(6) As Currency
Dim I As Integer, curSum As Currency
Dim curAvg As Currency
Dim intCount As Integer

Private Sub cmdAvg_Click()
curAvg = curSum / intCount
txtAvg.Text = Format(curAvg, "Currency")
End Sub

Private Sub cmdExit_Click()
End
End Sub

Private Sub cmdHighest_Click()
Dim curHighest As Currency

curHighest = curSale(0)
   
     For I = 1 To 6
        If curSale(I) > curHighest Then
        curHighest = curSale(I)
        End If
     Next
   
txtHighest.Text = curHighest

End Sub

Private Sub cmdInput_Click()
Dim curHighest As Currency

    Open "a:\\CustSales.txt" For Input As #1
       
        Do Until EOF(1)
            Input #1, strName(I), curSale(I)
            lstCust.AddItem (strName(I)) & "/" & Format(curSale(I), "Currency")
            curSum = curSum + curSale(I)
            intCount = intCount + 1
        Loop
       
End Sub


My problem is finding the max amount.  I\'m using a For Next loop and an If & Then statement to determine the highest sales amount.

All it does is display the last item in the array!

Please help:(

Oh, and if you could help me out on finding the min sales, that would be cool too!

Offline SwifDi
  • Legendary Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 9620
  • Karma: +10/-0
Need help with Visual Basic...
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2003, 09:58:24 PM »
*waits for Stapler*

Offline EmperorRob
  • Mr Sexual Harassment
  • Legendary Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3932
  • Karma: +10/-0
Need help with Visual Basic...
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2003, 10:10:01 PM »
Let me preface this with the fact that\'s it\'s been a couple years since I did VB.

The first thing that sticks out at me is that you are not accessing the 0th element of that array inside your loop, but you are assigning it to your temp variable:


Private Sub cmdHighest_Click()
Dim curHighest As Currency

curHighest = curSale(0)

For I = 1 To 6
   If curSale(I) > curHighest Then
      curHighest = curSale(I)
   End If
Next

txtHighest.Text = curHighest

End Sub


So if you have an array of 6 elements they can either run (0..5) or (1..6).  I do remember you could change whether array indices started on 0 or 1 with the OptionBase = command, but I\'m not familiar with Option Explicit.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2003, 10:12:50 PM by EmperorRob »
This is America and I can still pay for sex with pennies

Offline Ginko
  • hello again
  • Legendary Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3087
  • Karma: +10/-0
Need help with Visual Basic...
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2003, 07:08:15 AM »
Option Explicit requires that all variables be declared and generates a error message if they are not.  

I inserted my Option Base 0 (Option base 1 generated an "Out of subscript range).

Then I changed it to

For I = 0 to 5

Nothing different...it still does the same exact thing.

Offline The Stapler
  • Eternal Shin Splints
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1335
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • http://www.staples.com
Need help with Visual Basic...
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2003, 07:56:10 AM »
Quote
Originally posted by Vapor Snake
*waits for Stapler*


C&Ps code into VB.

CS is soooo boring.

Try using curSale(1 to 6) or curSale(0 to 5) in your array declaration. And at the end of your for loop, if I\'m not mistaken, it\'s supposed to be "Next I".

Offline Ginko
  • hello again
  • Legendary Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3087
  • Karma: +10/-0
Need help with Visual Basic...
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2003, 08:33:33 AM »
Quote

Private Sub cmdInput_Click()
Dim curHighest As Currency

I=0

Open "a:\\CustSales.txt" For Input As #1

Do Until EOF(1)
Input #1, strName(I), curSale(I)
lstCust.AddItem (strName(I)) & "/" & Format(curSale(I), "Currency")
curSum = curSum + curSale(I)
I = I + 1
Loop

End Sub

Private Sub cmdHighest_Click()
Dim curHighest As Currency

curHighest = curSale(0)

I=0

For I = 1 To 6
If curSale(I) > curHighest Then
curHighest = curSale(I)
End If
Next

txtHighest.Text = curHighest

End Sub



Okay, I got it to display the max and min amounts in the text boxes...now I have to get it to display the corresponding Customer Name in the same text box.  That sucks!

I know you have to compare the index values inside the loop...I\'m thinking something like...


For I=1 to 6

If curSale(I)>curHighest then
curHighest=curSale(I)
End If

If curSale(I)=strName(I) Then
(Doesn\'t know what goes here!)
End if

Next I

txtHighest.text= strName(I) & format(curHighest,"Currency")

End Sub

The book does a really craptacular job of explaining it...I get the concept, but I\'m not sure how to tell the program to do it.

Any help?

Offline The Stapler
  • Eternal Shin Splints
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1335
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • http://www.staples.com
Need help with Visual Basic...
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2003, 07:57:26 AM »
For I = 1 to 6

If curSale(I) > curHighest then
curHighest = curSale(I)
End If

next i

for i = 1 to 6
If curSale(I) = curHighest Then
txtHighest.text= strName(I) & format(curHighest,"Currency")
End if
Next I

End Sub

I put in two for...next loops. One goes through once and find the highest price. The other finds who spent that much. Sorry, I don\'t have the time to figure out how to get into one loop.

Offline Ginko
  • hello again
  • Legendary Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3087
  • Karma: +10/-0
Need help with Visual Basic...
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2003, 07:48:26 AM »
I figured it out:)

I\'m currentyl trying to figure out how to work with 2 dimensional arrays and For-Next loops.  I have most of the project up and running, I just have to declare a string arrary and somehow get it to compared the index values within the for-next loops...

Thanx anyway:D

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk